i1024 Logo

About Me

First Feature Image
First Feature Image

I am a husband, father, web developer, lover of movies and minions. Stoke-on-Trent born and bred.

Movies & TV

Second Feature Image
First Feature Image

For as long as I can remember i've been a fan of film. I've collected movies in VHS, DVD and now Blu-ray.

Wev Development

Third Feature Image
First Feature Image

While web design & development has long been a hobby of mine, I'm now fortunate enough to work in the industry.

ButterBelly Theme Features

Features that will make your website awesome.

ButterBelly is designed beautifully with clean coding. You can easily install it on your dashboard within a single click and make your website within no time. ButterBelly is designed beautifully with clean coding. You can easily install it on your dashboard within a single click and make your website within no time.ButterBelly is designed beautifully with clean coding. You can easily install it on your dashboard within a single click.

You can showcase multiple images on slider maximum of 6 that will attract visitor's attention. The recommended size of the images is 1920 px x 860 px. .

8 beautiful colors are given in the theme option. You can choose the best as per your requirement.

The most important feature that everybody wants nowadays. The theme is completely responsive and will look on mobile devices. The theme is also compatible with latest browsers.

Show your latest posts here.

By default no posts will appear. You need to create one.

  • Sorry, no posts matched your criteria.

About Me

Biography

Blackpool

Thanks for visiting my website, If you'd like to know more about me then hear goes. My name is Jamie Fergusson and I was born in January 1979 in Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire . Since the age of five I lived in the village of Smallthorne located in the north of the city. I went to Smallthorne County Primary School until the age of 11. I then attended Haywood High School (Currently known as Haywood Engineering Collage) followed by two years at Newcastle-under-Lyme Collage where I studied General Engineering. At the age of 18 I started HND in Information Systems but changed course during my first year to Computer Science, I completed this in two years and then bridged onto the degree course. During my 3rd year at university I did a 10 month work placement at Hewlett Packard in Boeblingen (near Stuttgart) in Germany before returning to complete my final year and graduate in 2001 with a BSc (Hons) in Computer Science.

After University I tried my hand as a freelance web designer while taking a job as a security officer at a local Audi dealership where I remained for 5 years. It was only meant to be a temporary job to make some money while I tried to get enough design work but the temporary job became full time and the web design fell by the wayside.

After 5 years of 13 hour night shifts I'd had enough. I began working for Openreach(BT) as a customer service engineer. The job entailed installing and repairing the copper network between exchange and end user properties. Lovely job in the summer, not so great come winter. A couple of years into the job I started suffering with a chronic, recurring back problem. The nature of the job didn't suit a back problem and after a couple of uncomfortable years I finally had to throw in the towel. I was trying to find a new role within Openreach when an opportunity arose to take a voluntary redundancy package so after 6 years with Openreach I left.

For 12 months I worked again as a self employed web design/developer. In March 2013 I began working at Jacksons Nurseries & Tea Rooms. My role was originally to cover a 12 month maternity period as both their web developer and a web sales adviser dealing with the running of the website and the general day-to-day processing of orders & customer service. After being at Jacksons for 6 months I was offered a full time position as Web Development Controller which is currently the role I occupy.

During this I meet my wife Emma in 2006, we moved into our current home in 2007 and got married in 2008. We had a son named Matthew in 2010.

Hobbies & Interests

Film & TV, Music, Watching Football, Web Design & Development, Cars, Computers, Gadgets, Home Cinema, DIY.

20 Questions

Name: Jamie Fergusson

Age: 37

Nationality: British

Birth Place: Stoke-on-Trent

Current Residence: Stoke-on-Trent

Education: Staffordshire University

Qualification: BSc Computer Science 2:1 (Hons)

Occupation: Web Designer/Developer

Employer: Jacksons Nurseries

Married: Yes

Children: 1

Tattoos: 1

Religion: Atheist

Current Car: Chevrolet Cruze LT

Dream Car: McLaren F1

Favourite Colour: Black

Favourite Food: Cheese Oatcakes

Favourite Movie: The Shawshank Redemption

Football Team: Manchester United

Favourite Superhero: Batman

Movies & TV

Minion Line-Up

Movies & Me

I've been watch movies for as long as I can remember, a lot of my earliest memories are of visits to the cinema to see the likes of ET, Return of the Jedi and Snow White (Not the first time around obviously). I remember our first VCR being a Grundig top-loader with wired remote control which my parents rented from Radio Rentals. My Mum also rented what she thought was Gremlins but turned out to be Critters which my Dad wouldn't let me watch, granted I was younger than the 15 certificate but Gremlins was also a 15 certificate but he'd have let me watch that!

During my school years there were a lot of trips to the local Video Shop, probably at least once a week and there was the obligatory collection of 'blank' tapes with the classics like Aliens, Terminator and Robocop all recorded from the TV. We even had the faux book cases! When I got a bit older I started to purchase movies on VHS and at the time of moving to DVD I had around 300 movies on VHS.

My first DVD player was a Pioneer deck imported from the US along with a copy of Blade which I got the week before the film was released in the UK cinemas, My DVD collection grew over the years to around 1000 DVDs before I moved over to Blu-ray (there was a small fling with HD-DVD but we all know what happened to those, backed the wrong horse there!).

View my movie collection online - Click Here

Check out my Top 10 Movies & TV Series - Click Here

Collection Management

The My Movies product suite consists of multiple products; My Movies for Windows Media Centre, My Movies for Windows Home Server, My Movies Collection Management and My Movies for Mac OS X as well as our applications for mobile devices including iPhone, iPad, Android and Windows Phone, and last our My Movies for Windows 8 for all Windows 8.1 devices. My Movies Collection Management is included in the My Movies for Windows Media Centre product, but can also be downloaded and installed separately.

My Movies Software

My Top 10...

 

Web Development

Work & Play

Web Design & Development has been a hobby of mine for over 15 years. I made random websites for fun and taught myself to code HTML, ASP, PHP etc. At university (1997-2001) I studied Computer Science, several of my modules were web development and user interface orientated. My 3rd year was an industrial placement year, so I spent Y2K working in Boeblingen, Germany at Hewlett Packard as a database administrator where I maintained a bespoke time management/tracking tool for a small project group spread over 3 European sites and as part of the support role I created and maintained a user support website. Then in my final year project I created a database driven car insurance system along the same lines as most online insurance companies use, if only I'd come up with Go-Confuse-the-Meerkat.com eh!.

In February 2013 having just finished working as a Customer Service Engineer at Openreach(BT) I spent 12 months working for myself but I had no burning ambition to work for myself or be my own boss. I knew however that I wanted my next career to be doing something I enjoyed, web design/development. While I had designed and built several website prior to this point most were no longer online so I thought that building up a proper portfolio of work would at some point help my employment prospects down the line.

My passion has always been low cost but high quality web development this wasn't really a great business model, web development is one of those things that everyone thinks they can do themselves and at the lower end of the web development market is awash with free tools to help people make their own sites and while they don't always result in a quality result, people are loathed to spend money and it's hard to compete with free.

After 12 months of building up a portfolio of work, I began looking for a paid job. There were several traditional web development jobs about but I've always liked getting my teeth into something more than just developing websites one after the other for clients and moving on, I enjoy developing a working relationship and getting to know the businesses I'm involved in. So I was looking for the rare opportunity to be an in house developer for a single company and that rare opportunity presented itself when I took a temporary 12 month contract for maternity cover at Jacksons Nurseries & Tea Rooms. 6 months into the term I was offered a permanent 12 month contract as Web Development Controller, the position I currently hold.

Portfolio

Ashley Surname - Take a Look

Burslem Glassblowing - Take a Look

Classic Beauty - Take a Look

Eco Iron - Take a Look

Group 4 Wheels - Take a Look

Harris Motor Co - Take a Look

Maxwell Plant Hire - Take a Look

Past Lives Revisited - Take a Look

Rob Wheelers Alter Ego - Take a Look

Smallthorne History - Take a Look


HTML5  CSS3  Responsive Web Design  XML"  JQuery  JavaScript  PHP  MYSQL   Wordpress  Photoshop  Google Chrome  Mozilla Firefox  Microsoft Internet Explorer  Opera  Apple Safari

Contact Me

Something to say?

Contact Me

Should you wish to contact me then you can use the form or you can find me on social media.




Facebook - facebook.com/spoonboy90

Twitter - twitter.com/spoonboy90

Google+ - plus.google.com/spoonboy90

Linkedin - uk.linkedin.com/in/i1024

Pinterest - uk.pinterest.com/spoonboy90/

 
Need to send me files? Use WeTransfer

Get in touch using the form if you need my email address to send files.